Impacts of long COVID

I had covid Feb 21.
Long story short, I’ve been left disabled and can’t work.
I had 2 job interviews recently for jobs I am well qualified for and experienced in. I’m a teacher. They are part time jobs with hours I can cope with.
Both feedback independently told me my lessons appeared “disorganised” although they acknowledged my lessons had been well planned.
My confidence has hit rock bottom.

The purpose of this post is really for others to acknowledge the impact of long covid and to ensure they make adaptations and Allowances for this during stressful times such as interview situations. Employers need to do their bit too.

Thank you for this post and sharing your experience. They sound like very difficult challenges and situations you have been faced with. I guess you have already seen this link - Find help and support if you have long COVID - GOV.UK, but it seemed worth sharing in case you have not. I will ensure to share the points you raise with members of the CONVALESCENCE research team. Best wishes for your speedy recovery.

(A discussion about how to define Long Covid has been started, if you would like to contribute - the forum space can be found here - How should we define Long Covid?).

I’m aware that I am not as badly affected as many Long Covid sufferers. I first had Covid in May 2020. Not too bad with initial infection, pretty much like winter flu. Three weeks later we were calling out the ambulance as my heart pounded, my blood pressure hit the roof and I had chest pains. The following day I was in hospital for tests, but all came back clear and I went home. The next two months saw me in A&E twice with the same symptoms. In between whiles fatigue and brain fog hit. I could get out of bed, but an hour later I was lying down again. I couldn’t concentrate to read a book ( I am usually an avid reader) and barely managed audio books. Couldn’t leave the house to go for a walk as I could only just make it out of the garden.